to eleven


Top Ten Albums of 2011-jason’s List by jason

Usually, I don’t do an actual Top Ten list; I do an “Albums that exceeded/met/failed to meet my expectations” list. This year, however, I heard a lot of bands for the first time, so I really went through the year without expectations (for the most part). I guess I have to do a top ten list for 2011.

OK. These albums are in random order, though the last five will be my absolute favorites for the year.

11.
Tyler the Creator-Goblin

This one would probably be on my top 5 list if it wasn’t so misogynistic. I listened to Goblin about 20 times since I got it a couple of months ago, and I hear new things in it each time. Say what you want about this dude, but Tyler knows how to craft lyrics with layers of meaning, and his idea of a three-album concept where a man goes insane while talking to his therapist (who may actually be one of his split personalities) is awesome and well-executed.

10. Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling 2
Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling-Questions are a Burden to Others
Speaking of concepts, Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling’s second The Prisoner inspired EP is every bit as good as the first. In fact, everything Michael J. Epstein touches is fantastic, which is why two of the bands he’s affiliated with make my list this year, but more on that later.

9.Tumblewoof Phoenix Lil Wayne
Tumblewoof-Phoenix & Lil’ Wayne
TUMBLEwoof’s mash-up of Lil’ Wayne & Phoenix is pretty rad. It’s made Mash-up Monday more than a couple of times. I can’t wait to see what this guy’s doing next.

8.
AC Deathstrike-Winter in Russia
This one might have actually ranked in my top five, but I feel like it was too new for me to make that judgement. But it’s a brilliant twee-rock album that pretty much sounds like the inside of my head does. And the frontman, Alex Dougherty, is pretty rad, too.

7. Eastern Phoebes Eggplant

Eastern Phoebes-Eggplant
Eggplant is another one I almost feel is too new to go on my list, but I love Eastern Phoebes, and I really think that this album is the most coherent work they’ve done. It’s going to be on my walkman well into 2012.

6.
Dino DNA-Dino DNA
Dino DNA. They are rad. Go listen to them.

And now, my top five favorite albums, in order.

5.
Nick Jaina-The Beanstalks That Have Brought Us Here Are Gone
Back in July, I said that this album was going to be on my top ten of the year list. In fact, in the press release that is sent out for this album, I’m quoted saying that, so I’d better put this on here so I’m not a liar.

Just kidding. The Beanstalks That Have Brought Us Here Are Gone would be on this list whether I had made that proclaimation or not. Jaina brings an all-star cast of female singers to bring his songs to life, and the whole thing really gels together as an album, despite the multiple singers. Great stuff.

4. Songs for Boats Talons'
Talons’-Songs For Boats
I waited for almost 2 years for Talons’ Songs for Boats, and it was worth the wait. I mean, it’s a soft-folk album about two lovers wandering an apocalyptic landscape. What’s not to love?

3. Michael J. Epstein Memorial Library
The Michael J. Epstein Memorial Library-Volume 1

This is the second Michael J. Epstein project on my list. I described it as ” Magnetic Fields meets Peter, Paul, and Mary,” and in retrospect, that’s still accurate. Twee-folk-chamber-pop FTW!, Or, as Epstein would say, “!!!”

2.Soul Khan Soul Like Khan: Starve the Ego, Feed the Soul
Soul Khan-Soul Like Khan: Starve the Ego, Feed the Soul
A bunch of mash-up artists like Frail Limb Purity, DJ Schmolli, and DJ Lobsterdust took one of the best albums of 2010 and made it one of the best albums of 2011. FACT. Some of the tracks have replaced the originals as “the version i think of” when I think of Khan’s music. Khan released a few EPs this year, but this was my favorite thing he was connected to this year.

1.
The Mountain Goats- All Eternals Deck
The last two years, The Mountain Goats have either met or failed to meet my expectations. Both Heretic Pride and The Life of the World to Come were dissapointing when compared to what John Darnielle had done before. that’s what I was so excited when I realized that this year’s All Eternals Deck was a frickin’ great album. It totally exceeded my expectations, and I expect a lot from them. The Mountain Goats are finally back to form, God’s in his Heaven, and all’s right with the world. I got to see them when they toured to support this album, and it was a great show. JD’s still got it, folks!

And that’s my top ten list. Do you disagree with any of the choices? Do you agree? Do you wish I had mentioned a different album? Let me know in the comment thingie below, and we can have a music snob ragefest civil discussion about it.

-jason

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice list, dude. I’m surprised that Goblin made your list.

Comment by Eli Gundry

I have a love/hate relationship with Goblin, but I listened to it enough that it had to go on the list. It certainly had my attention.

Comment by jason

I’ll have to check out some of these. For me, the best CD of 2011 was Girl Talk’s All Day.

Comment by OaS

That one was pretty good, too. I actually have about 5 albums that I was sad to have to leave off the list. This was definitely a good year for music.

Comment by jason




Leave a Reply

