to eleven


To Eleven Unplugged by jason
December 2, 2011, 9:00 am
Filed under: Friday | Tags: , , , ,

Beeeeeeeeeeeeeep! Wrrrrrrrrrrrooooooooowwww…..

“What the hell was that?” I said, looking at my monitor, which had gone inexplicably black. “J.A.Y.N.O.V.A., I need a status report!”

There was no response. J.A.Y.N.O.V.A., the To Eleven Institute of Sound’s supercomputer, had died.

I pressed the power switch. Nothing.

I hit Control-Alt-Delete. Nothing.

I sacrificed a small, unwanted orphan over the mainframe. Still nothing, and that usually worked. I was, as they used to say on television, experiencing “technical difficulties.”

“Well, now what?” I asked myself. “I guess I’ll just listen to music.” I grabbed the mouse, prepared to turn on my Windows Media Player, and laughed to myself. “Heh. OK. Let me get out the old MP3 player…”

…and I forgot to charge it last time I used it. The battery was dead, and I surely couldn’t charge it now…

“That’s no good. I’ll just have to use my stereo.”

But where was the stereo? It had been so long since I used it, I couldn’t remember which wing of To Eleven South it was stored in. Huh. I looked around the living room. I checked the closet. “J.A.Y.N.O.V.A., where…never mind.”

I walked into my bedroom and sat on the bed. “Maybe I’ll listen to the clock radio. That should…wait? Do they even have radio anymore? I don’t even know!” I was about to find out when I saw my stereo under a pile of clothes on the dresser. “Ah ha! There you are, you bastard!” Now, if I could only find my CDs.

###

An hour later, I stood in the remains of my office, victorious. My CD collection sat in storage racks, organized by genre. “Awesome! Let’s see…I’m in the mood for some Soul Khan…”

Damn it. I only had a digital copy of it.

Hmmm…”Well, that new AC Deathstrike was good…”

Crap. I only had it on digital.

Thinking back, I realized that I haven’t bought a physical copy of any music since the Mountain Goats album in…March?

I suddenly appreciated one of the best things about physical media…not that you get to hold it in your hand, or that it has pretty art…it’s that it’s portable…you don’t lose your entire collection when you can’t get your computer to boot or when you can’t access the internet to get to The Cloud. All of my CDs are ripped to J.A.Y.N.O.V.A., but I have the physical copies. My digital only copies were no good to me now.

I’m had to go get parts to fix J.A.Y.N.O.V.A. I grabed my keys and headed to the office one last time. Reaching into my CD collection, I pulled out Belle & Sebastian’s Tigermilk to listen to in the car. Now, if I could only remember which side of the CD goes on top…

-jason

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i mailed you a copy of our new cd a couple of days go, it should arrive tomorrow if my calculations are correct!
alex

Comment by alex dougherty

Thanks! You, and the rest of AC Deathstrike, rock!

Comment by jason




Leave a Reply

