to eleven


Tuesday by Jayson

Ok.

I have a bunch of great music sitting around to review but it is all in the post-rock/progressive/ambient category. I love that stuff and will review it all, but I am also kinda like… post-rock/progressive/ambient’d out for the moment. I am seriously out of adjectives. I am going to try to write about some other stuff this week to power up for all of that.

Also working on Top Best Music of the Year. It’s going to be good. There will also be some new things, couple of albums that never got reviewed here, some revised opinions, etc.

Official thoughts on the American Nightmare/American Nothing/Give Up The Ghost reunion:

Ok, I like this band. I think they’re good. I have both their albums turns out and one of their t-shirts was my favorite shirt that got worn until it died. I was never superfan #1 though. I liked their stuff, but I wasn’t crying because they understood me so well. I am kind of an airhead when it comes to a lot of this, in fact until their site launched, I always thought it was SCREAMING DEATH TO NOTHING. Because you know, it could be, it’s lyrics, lyrics I never bothered to read. Anyway, this is basically what I said on a comment at Stuff You Will Hate, but it is weird to me how they’re a Thing now. Seriously, these were dudes that I saw opening for various bands, like Trustkill’s big touring bands in their heyday. I am really pretty sure no one cared as much then as they seem to now.

hayley-williams-and-american-nightmare

This is the shirt. Soulmates...

The photo is what blows my mind. This is like some Twilight Zone shit to me. Now AM are a Significant Band, this is Weezer all over again really. Now you can wear an American Nightmare shirt when you are the singer of a pop punk band and you want to appear credible, to who exactly? I am losing the plot of this whole credibility thing anyway.

Still IF ANYONE HAS ONE OF THESE IN GOOD SHAPE IN A SIZE LARGE, LET ME KNOW. WE CAN DO BUSINESS. 

The two dates thing sucks. They should do a real tour, play the Agora Ballroom again. We can get some of that shitty pizza and reminisce, good times.

Creedstock 

Since finding out about it last night, Drinkify is my new favorite site. Here are apparently the ideal drinks to go with what I’m listening to:

“THE GRAVEDIGGAZ”

  • 8 oz. Vodka
  • 8 oz. Cranberry juice
  • 12 oz. Coconut milk
Combine in highball glass and serve.

“THE ISIS”

  • 12 oz. Horilka
  • 12 oz. Lemon juice

“THE KOOL KEITH”

  • 1 oz. Gin
  • 1 oz. Coco López
  • 8 oz. Nordic Mist
Combine in highball glass and serve. Stir slowly. Garnish with shrimp.

“THE BOARDS OF CANADA”

  • 10 oz. Gin
  • 10 oz. Elderflower cordial

Combine in highball glass and serve. Stir vigorously. Garnish with sugar.

“THE WESTSIDE CONNECTION”

  • 1 bottle Gin

Serve neat.

oh, and:

“THE AMERICAN NIGHTMARE”

  • 8 oz. Cognac
  • 8 oz. Coco López
  • 10 oz. Red Bull

Combine in highball glass and serve. Garnish with pickled carrot sticks.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

