to eleven


Review: Sonny Blood – Two Improvisations by Jayson
October 25, 2011, 2:11 pm
Filed under: Blues, Experimental | Tags: , , , ,

So, a few weeks back I get this tape in the mail. Didn’t know it was coming, just got it. It’s from Wisconsin though, and at this stage of the game I have determined that if a tape comes from Wisconsin, it’s automatically going to be interesting.

This is hitting a point where I’m gonna have to drive up there one of these days, just to see what it is that makes it happen. There’s something going on up there, a wellspring of esoteric creativity.

Anyway, Sonny Blood, Two Improvisations. It’s the blues, or at least, that’s what I’m hearing. Listening to this album, I get the picture of some kind of haunted, depression era landscape. The deep woods, maybe a swamp. Someone sitting out there playing the guitar or banjo. It’s got that haunted quality, but driven on some level too. It could very easily be a soundtrack. Despite the fact these are improvisations, it never, ever feels directionless. It was a damn fine listen.

Here’s the thing though, there’s no note on this. I have the address, but I don’t know if I should give it out. Let me know, I’ll make some changes. I’ve got 1/13, so there’s still 12 left out there somewhere. I’d guess this’d be out on Earjerk, but I don’t see it up there yet.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

