to eleven


Friday. by jason
September 23, 2011, 10:23 am
Filed under: Rambling, Videos | Tags: , , ,

I’m really not making a habit of the “Friday” thing, but the album I was reviewing needs a more thorough listen. Stuff happened this week.

A lot of my friends seem to be taking the end of R.E.M. pretty hard. As I said yesterday, I get that. If the Mountain Goats broke up tomorrow, I’d be devastated. However, the fact remains that many of my friends (not all of them, but many of them) are actually mourning the R.E.M. of their memory, and not the band as they have been recently.

For instance, here’s “Mine Smell Like Honey,” their most recent single:

It resembles the early stuff, but it sounds like an imitation of the old stuff. And the chorus kills it for me. It’s not just the lyrics that sound like he’s talking about his farts, either; it’s that ineffectual “uh” that kills the whole thing for me.

Compare that with “Radio Free Europe,” which, by comparison, is mellow, and yet there’s an enthusiasm about it. This is the sound of Stipe before he was just going through the motions:

But enough about them. At least until the inevitable reunion tour.

This is kind of music related, I guess, but the new trailer for The Muppets was released, and if you’ve seen the trailer for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, this is pretty funny:

Here’s the original, with music by Trent Reznor and Karen O, in case you missed it:

And finally, I’ve been listening to Tyler the Creator’s Goblin, and I’ve realized that if you don’t want to hear songs about rape and mutilating women, you can listen to the first 2 tracks and final 3 tracks and have a pretty good idea of the main arc of the album. With that in mind, I can recommend those five with a clear conscious.

And that’s the week that was.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

