to eleven


Some videos by jason
September 2, 2011, 11:03 am
Filed under: Movies | Tags: , , ,

I was going to post the third installment about race and mash-ups today, but I’m waiting to hear back from a few people. So instead of intelligent discussion of the sociological implications of mash-up music, we’re going to watch some videos.

First off, the Mountain Goats released a video for “Real Estate Sign” off of All Eternals Deck. I like it…it works well with the theme of the song. The entire album is great, so go buy it.

Tasseomancy are a band I reviewed a few weeks ago. I liked them. Here’s a video they just released from that album.It’s atmospheric as hell.

Charlotte Gainsbourg has a new album coming out. I…might get it. I like her stuff, but I’m not in love with it. That said, IRM was a pretty good album. I need to listen to it more.

Speaking of Gainsbourg, Joann Sfar, the writer/artist behind the graphic novelThe Rabbi’s Cat, directed a film about Charlotte’s dad, Serge Gainsbourg. It looks amazing. I want to see it all kinds of bad.

Hah! Remember that one time, when she was 12, that Charlotte sang that one song with her dad?

I’m going to go pour bleach in my eyes and ears now. Bye!

-jason

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

While I’m on the subject of Serge Gainsbourg, what’s with brilliant people from the ’60s and ”70s, like Gainsbourg and Leonard Cohen, deciding that that drum machine/synth thing sounded good?

Comment by jason




Leave a Reply

