to eleven


Review: Max Tannone- Ghostfunk by jason
July 21, 2011, 8:53 am
Filed under: hip-hop, Remix, Review | Tags: , , , ,


Max Tannone-Ghostfunk. Self-released, 2011.

This is great.

-jason

OK, that wasn’t much of a review, but come on. It’s Max Tannone (Jaydiohead, Mos Dub) mashing up Ghostface Killah with some ’70s African funk and psychedelic rock. I shouldn’t even have to tell you it’s great. You should already have it downloaded.

What can I say about Ghostfunk that I haven’t said about every Max Tannone project ever? I mean, these songs all sound like they should be the original versions. After listening to this, I think I’ll always feel like Ghostface Killah’s original tracks will sound like remixes to me. These songs have replaced the original versions in my mind.

I’d be hard pressed to choose any tracks as my favorite, but “Three Lords” is just about perfect, and when the opening track, “Make it N.Y.” starts with the funk trumpet intro from Rob Kanda’s “Make it Fast, Make it Slow,” it gets all 1977 up in here!

Seriously, though, Max Tannone is one of our favorite mash-up producers here at To Eleven. Everything he touches is gold, and Ghostfunk is no exception. You can download Ghostfunk for free from Max Tannone’s website.

-jason

Be sure to read our interview with Max Tannone from 2010.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

