to eleven


Larchmere Porchfest, July 25, 2011 by jason
June 28, 2011, 9:00 am
Filed under: Shows | Tags: , , ,

Ok. So I realized that Larchmere Porchfest was happening this weekend. It’s this thing where a bunch of bands (30, to be exact) play 1/2 hour shows on porches in the Larchmere neighborhood of Shaker Heights. I felt obligated to get off my lazy ass and go because A) Shivering Timbers was playing, and my girlfriend had yet to see them, B) it was like 2 blocks away from my apartment, and C) it was free. I think my blogging license would have been taken from me if I failed to show.

Like I said, 30 bands were playing, spread out over the neighborhood. They had an info tent set up so that you cold get a map and see what bands were playing, where and when they were playing, and what style of music they were into. This was great because, like a festival, you could design your own music experience. With that in mind, we decided to see Filmstrip, Shivering Timbers, and Dino DNA.

So, we made it to the Filmstrip show, which was in the garden at the side of a house. It was a pretty awesome venue, because we just kind of sat in the yard and watched these guys rock out. Neighbors came and went, some watching the whole performance, and some just sampling all the different bands. The band itself were pretty straight 90’s style indie-rock… melodic, and if the neighbors were any indication, pretty easy to dance to. I had never heard them before, but after seeing them here, I’m going to watch out for them. Good stuff.

Filmstrip rocking out in someone's garden.

Next, across the street was the band I came to see: Shivering Timbers. I loved these guys when I saw them at the Neutral Uke Hotel, and Jayson (who couldn’t make this show) had nothing but good things to say about them at Weapons of Mass Creation. This performance was nearly perfect: the audience was close to the band, the sound levels were probably the best I’ve heard from any band, and of course, they are awesome. My girlfriend was really impressed with them, too, and would have bought their CD if I didn’t already have it. She talked to the lead vocalist/upright bassist Sarah Benn for a few minutes after the show. Sarah’s nice like that.

Shivering Timbers. I love these guys.

Finally was Dino DNA. I had heard a few tracks from their album, and I told the girlfriend that they sounded “stupid and awesome.” I mean stupid in the best possible way, of course; great rock n’ roll should be kind of dumb. Anyway, the live show kicked all kinds of ass. Seriously. They have this surf-rock inspired punk sound that’s very drum-centric. And the drummer killed it. When they played their song “Wontcha Surf,” I declared it the best thing I had heard all weekend. Seriously, if they end up in your neck of the woods, go see them.

Dino DNA. The image is blurry because the camera was being rocked so hard.

After that, we decided to bug out of the whole thing rather than go see a Zydeco band. I’m convinced that white folk from Ohio only listen to Zydeco to feel cultured, not because they actually like it. We left feeling that the Larchmere Porchfest was just another reason why I’m glad we moved to this area. Porchfest is an annual thing, so if your in the area, check it out next year!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

