to eleven


Review: Midway Fair- The Distance of the Moon at Daybreak by jason
June 2, 2011, 11:09 am
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,


Midway Fair- The Distance of the Moon at Daybreak. Self Released, 2011.

I’m going to be honest here. On my first listen to Midway Fair’s The Distance of the Moon at Daybreak, I wasn’t extremely impressed. This is not to say that it’s not good, just that it didn’t seem to be my thing. There’s a Fairport Convention/Richard Thompson thing going on here, and though I like that stuff, I don’t seek it out.

However, I took a look at the band’s blog, and I developed a whole new appreciation of them. See, this album is very old school, but, as the band’s press release says, it’s “a concept album that deconstructs folk music motifs and repurposes them for the subject matter of the 21st century.” A deconstruction of folk motifs? The post-modernist in me started salivating.

Informed by the blog, I gave the album another listen, and it’s great. Musically, it mostly sounds like seventies British folk, with a few sounds venturing more into indie-folk rock territory. And it sounds like good British folk and Indie-rock. The music works on a more intellectual level once you know what they’re doing.

Some highlights are the Okkervil River-esque “(It’s Not) 1962,” “Tomorrow I’m Gone (500 Miles),” which borrows lines from various traditional folk songs to create a new story, and the very old-school folk song “The Fairest of Them All.” Really, nothing on this album is less than good, most of it is great, and I’ve found that it gets better with repeated listenings.

The Distance of the Moon at Daybreak is available from the band’s bandcamp page.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

