to eleven


Review: Witch Mountain – South of Salem by Jayson
May 31, 2011, 10:15 am
Filed under: Metal, Review, Rock | Tags: ,

You know, as a reviewer I have some basic fear of waking up one day and not being able to enjoy releases like Witch Mountain’s South of Salem. I say that because what Witch Mountain is doing is a fairly familiar thing. Hitting play on South of Salem is like “Yeah… alright.” A lot of people who have been doing this longer than I have seem to have moved to this point where if they’ve heard it before it’s no good. They’re worn down.

I’m bringing all this up because a lot of the things you could say to describe Witch Mountain are dead on: “stoner rock” “blusey” “stoner doom” “Sabbathy” “classic rock-influenced” etc. The thing is, I don’t feel any of that stuff is bad, this band has its influences. You’ll figure them out in a few minutes, but with South of Salem it’s a “standing on the shoulders of giants” kinda thing. Everything Witch Mountain are doing here is perfect. From the opening riff of Wings of the Lord, I was into it. Like I said, perfect; perfectly rocking. That’s all the analysis this album needs.

Wings of the Lord

You should get this and play it over and over. That’s what I’m doing.

Witch Mountain bandcamp.

-Jayson

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Not to mention a bad ass album cover! I might be a little biased cause I can see where I live on that “map” – and sorta wish it actually resembled that map more closely than it does in real life! Haha

Comment by Cryogenic Husk




Leave a Reply

