to eleven


Review: Gone In 60 Seconds – Uncut by Jayson
May 17, 2011, 9:44 am
Filed under: Review, Rock | Tags: , ,

You may remember my previous review of Boston blog I Heart Noise’s Gone In 60 Seconds compilation. What we have with the Uncut is a much smaller selection of tracks (8) that we can hear in their entirety. Where for me the original compilation had it’s hits and misses it was interesting and I felt a solid exposure to a lot of music. Uncut is 100% hits though. I loved each of these songs and everything is going down in the books as something to check out my thoroughly on my own in the future.

Uncut is less on the experiential side. These eight tracks feel like they represent a more “concrete” approach to music. Nothing that really makes me pause and evaluate, just serious listening pleasure. Granted it’s not like you’re listening to the Beach Boys or the Ramones, but a more solid approach to composition underpins the selections. What Uncut shows me is the validity of what I consider one of the essential qualities of blogging; the curatorial nature of it all. It’s that instructed quality of the interested individual taking the time to put together something they consider worthy of putting out there for others to check out. Here is some good stuff, check it out. That’s why we do this, that’s why I like being involved with blogging and musicians. The basic promotion of good music. Bravo.

Download at the I Heart Noise bandcamp.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

