to eleven


For Your Listening Pleasure: Loscil by ymatto
April 8, 2011, 10:11 am
Filed under: Ambient, Electronic, For Your Listening Pleasure | Tags:

I like Jayson’s deal of pointing out music that is not just-in-stores new, but is worth attention.  Music that he finds that he wants to tell other dudes about.  So with that:

Endless Falls by Loscil

I have been of an ambient state of mind recently, and in trying to expand my horizons a bit, I made one of those personal discoveries that makes me wonder if I’m the last person to catch on.  What I am talking about here is Loscil and his eight or so albums over twelve years.  If this music is not new to you, dogg, why did you not tell me?

It’s pointless to try to do a review of an artist’s whole back catalog, so I’ll just state that this is uniformly ambient electronics of high-grade quality.  It is sonically rich and emotionally varied.  You have Submers, which skews toward dark and cosmic with cold, Basic Channel-like techno undercurrents.  And you have his latest Endless Falls, which feels organic, but with a sense of otherworldly detachment.  Some of it is even beat-driven in a sort of Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works I kind of way.  It’s the kind of ambient music that got me into ambient music in the first place; music that I can listen to for listless hours.

Physical copies are available at Kranky Music, or digital copies are to be had at amazon, probably among other places.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

