to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera by jason

Some days, when I put these things together, I scour the Interwebz looking for covers of specific songs. Some days, I look for certain themes, or for certain YouTube users. Today, I’m just sorting through all the YouTube posts of the last 24 hours, picking the wheat from the chaff, the cream from the…um…chaff. Anyway, these Assholes are the ones that got my attention in the last 24 hours.

YouTube user 2508wolfman, AKA Stag Party, just posted this cover of The Animals’ “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.” It’s a good cover, but what strikes me is he sounds like a young Leonard Cohen. I dig me some early Leonard Cohen.

When looking around the internets, I’m struck by how many Radiohead “Creep” covers are done by women. I guess it’s easier for women to hit the range that Thom Yorke hits? I dunno. I do know that Karen, AKA RevelingInReverie, nails it. She claims that this is not a good cover, but I disagree.

This minimalist video of maladroitlea89 covering “Shelter” by the XX is as haunting, visually, as it sounds. That’s all I have to say about it.

And finally, here’s kfkid’s rendition of Weezer’s “My Name is Jonas.” I know, I know…I always talk about how much I hate Weezer. You forget one thing, though: The Blue Album was before they sucked. Anyway, dude sounds like Rivers, and he has Teh Guitar Skillz(tm). Rock it, dude.

That’s it for today’s assholes! Come back next week for more Assholes!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

