to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera by jason

Well, this has been a busy week. I finished moving from Ghettoton, Ohio to Cleveland, Ohio. Jayson had frickin’ laser beams shot up his nose. Ragnarok happened, leaving Ohio a frozen, post-apocalyptic wasteland except for my neighborhood, which still has power. We’re all locked inside, armed, and ready to defend ourselves against both looters and frost giants.

But sometimes, you gotta take a break. So I put my girlfriend on watchtower duty and sat down to watch some Assholes.

This first one is Greg DelGiudice covering “Ocean” by the John Butler Trio. I don’t listen to JBT. They always struck me as a band for music nerds who liked “artistry” and “talent” and “actual ability” in their music. This DelGiudice has all three of those. What an Asshole, right?

Next up is Levi Bronson covering The White Stripes’ “We’re Going to be Friends.” It’s a great song, and a great cover. I’m sure by now, you’ve all heard that the White Stripes have broken up? It’s kind of a shame. I liked them as a band, and I haven’t really gotten into any of Jack’s other stuff. Anyway, here’s the cover. I love Meg White.

This guy calls himself Toxicityofficial on YouTube. He does a good cover of Bob Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love,” only he is covering the Garth Brooks version, I guess. It’s a Dylan song, though. Recognize.

And finally, here’s a lady covering the Mountain Goats. More specifically, here’s Elllio With No Ts (or elliowithnots) talking at length about why “Wild Sage” is important to her, then playing the song. Good stuff, that.

As always, come back next week to see more Assholes in their natural habitat (which happens to be To Eleven).

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

