to eleven


Review: Ides of Gemini – The Disruption Writ by Jayson
January 27, 2011, 10:30 am
Filed under: Ambient, Metal, Review | Tags: ,

I ordered this album because I liked what I heard online. J Bennet attached a note thanking me and hoping that I dug the album. I dig this album.

If I was going to invent a new genre of music to describe Ides of Gemini’s sound, I would call it dream doom. Categorizing themselves as ambient/experimental/metal on MySpace, the sound we’re left with is actually a really good synthesis of that. At the core of their sound, Ides of Gemini has a really strong doom element. I’d call it funeral doom, but the overall strength of the general sense of ambient and drone-like elements doesn’t especially make me think of the artists that typify that genre. Conversely the prominence of Sera Timms’s vocals keep the sound comfortable outside the realm of drone-doom. The way everything adds up, the sound has a real dreamy, gauzy but subtly unsettling undercurrent to it.

The Disruption Writ is sold out.  Head over to the Ides of Gemini blog to get your preorder in for the next edition of 100.

– Jayson

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] way everything adds up, the sound has a real dreamy, gauzy but subtly unsettling undercurrent to it.To Eleven […]

Pingback by the echo and echoplex » Saturday 07.23.11: LITURGY / CHELSEA WOLFE / IDES OF GEMINI @ Echo (EARLY SHOW!!)




Leave a Reply

