to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera by jason

Ok…I know last post I kind of derided Weezer for being Nerd Rock, which they are. However, those first two albums are still the shit (Though I’m revisiting my opinion of Pinkerton). Anyway, here’s Matt Cochran covering “Say It Ain’t So,” which is one of my favorite Weezer songs. And Cochran’s version is great, too!

I was once told I talk about the Mountain Goats too often on thsi blog, to which I reply, “I don’t talk enough about them, dogg. Now make me a sammich!” So here’s Marco Elsy covering “Collapsing Stars.” It is rad. You should go listen to the original, which was on the Dilaudid EP

Here’s a cover of a cover for you: Justin Whatley covering Iron & Wine’s cover of New Order’s “Love Vigilantes.” It’s a great song, and a great cover, and now, a brilliant cover of a cover. Word.

And finally, keeping with that theme, here is Elena Cohen covering Rufus Wainwright’s cover of Jeff Buckley’s cover of John Cale’s cover of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.” It’s funny, because her last name’s Cohen, his last name’s Cohen, but she does the six degrees of separation version. Anyway, here she is.

So that’s it for the Assholes this week! Come back next week for more Assholes!

-jason

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know I once told you that you talk about the Goats too much on here, to which you replied ‘I know, but…’ and then there was some blahdy blahdy blah about why, which I did not pay attention to.

Obviously, it was someone else whom was informed to make you a sammich, because if it were me I would have given you a piece of lettuce between two slices of bread, since you do not eat meat. That is not much of a sammich, but I respect your lifestyle.

Comment by patrick.

Thanks!

Comment by jason

Hey man,

Thanks for linking my vid to your blog, personally i don’t think you could EVER talk about the Mountain Goats too much!

(any asshole with a camera? a little harsh.. but true)

Keep up the good work!

Comment by Marco Elsy




Leave a Reply

