to eleven


Any Asshole with a Mash-up and a Camera by jason

For the first edition of Any Asshole for 2011, I thought I would blend my interests in Mash-ups and cover songs into one post, so here are some Assholes doing mash-ups! It makes me wish I had committed my acoustic mash-up of MGMT’s “Kids” and 3OH!3’s “Don’t Trust Me” to video. Maybe some day, kids.

First off, here’s Rochelle Diamante doing her cover of DJ Earworm’s mash-up “The United State of Pop 2010 (Don’t Stop the Pop).” It’s interesting because you don’t see to many covers of mash-ups. Rochelle does a great job, and she’s only 16! Thanks to reader “Mleonard” for bringing this to our attention.

I’m not trying to do a minor’s only thing, but this 10 year old and her seven year old brother play guitar better than I ever will, and their mash-up of Selena Gomez’s “Naturally” and Lady GaGa’s “Pokerface” is pretty rockin’. Sinead and Sean, you keep rockin.

And here’s another brother and Sister team with Gavin McGuinness and his sister Aideen mashing up The Killers’ “Mr. Brightside” and Kings of Leon’s “Use Somebody.” I really like what they’ve done here, taking both songs, making them their own, then putting them together. If I didn’t know these songs, I wouldn’t know where one ends and the other begins.

And finally, here’s Hello Money covering both Cat Stevens’ “Wild World” and Radiohead’s “Karma Police.” It’s as rad as it sounds.

Come back next week when more Assholes will be waiting for you!
-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

