to eleven


Review: Good Weather For An Airstrike – A Winter by Jayson
December 29, 2010, 10:05 am
Filed under: Ambient, Review | Tags: , ,

Within A Dream
https://toeleven.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/good-weather-for-an-airstrike-a-winter-02-within-a-dream.mp3

This review brings up a very base-level problem for me. It’s no secret that I enjoy ambient music and electroacoustic ambient especially. A Winter is an excellent example of the genre.

The problem is, when you write about metal you can write this slays or something and you can convey both your approval and some basis of your reason for approval with a few other sentences about riffs or whatnot. I always feel at a loss when discussing artists like Good Weather For An Airstrike. There is a large amount of  self-imposed pressure to not toss out adjectives like transcendent or sublime due to the fact that: 1) those aren’t things said lightly and 2) most people who say things like that immediately come off as pretentious to the point of being easily disregarded.

With that being said, I think I can say that there is something sublime and transcendent happening on A Winter. One of the reasons that it’s difficult for me to write reviews of ambient music releases other than to say ‘I love this’ or ‘this is excellent’ is that I have a very intuitive but complex response to it. It’s not engaging my pleasure centers as much as deeply effecting me on a lot of levels at the same time. That’s why I love it. A Winter is an excellent EP, it’s a profound listening experience and I look forward to delving into Good Weather For An Airstrike’s back catalog.

A Winter will be available on January 3rd on Rural Colours. In the mean time, go to GWFAA’s MySpace and Bandcamp.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

