to eleven


Yeah. by Jayson
December 8, 2010, 10:21 am
Filed under: Obituary | Tags:

I’m a pretty late comer to being a metal fan. I think really I’ve only been listening to metal for about 12 years or so. When Pantera had their heyday I was self-identifying with punk. I grew up in the country. When I think of Pantera, I think of a kind of person I knew growing up that I wouldn’t characterize too kindly. A lot of folks I like, my best friend even, like this band and hey, that’s fine. I never did and I never will. It’s not like I’m happy Dimebag is dead, but there’s no way I can claim his death means anything more to me than any other person’s. Nor am I going to claim otherwise out of some sense of metal solidarity.

It’s our sacred duty as bloggers to periodically run down things other people love. I’m going to memorialize the anniversary of Dimebag’s death by listening to Acid Bath, or any other NOLA band that didn’t start out as glam rockers.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

