to eleven


An open letter to, like, everyone. by jason
December 8, 2010, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Open Letter | Tags: , , ,

Dear everyone,

I come to bury Lennon, not to praise him. I mean, I love the Beatles. LOVE them. In Pulp Fiction, when Mia says that some men are Beatles men, and some are Elvis men, I’m a Beatles man. My love of music can be traced back to them. And maybe Queen, but that’s neither here nor there.

And John Lennon was a great songwriter. I’ll give you that. I love Plastic Ono Band, and Walls and Bridges is great, too. But the man was not a saint. He was arguably a terrible father and a horrible husband. His struggle for world peace, with the Bed-in and in his music, is pretty naive and kind of funny, if you think about it. If you were to tell me that his life was an Andy Kaufmanesque game he played with the public, I would believe you.

Why do we observe the anniversary of the death of John Lennon every year? And why do we seem to always mark Lennon’s death when we don’t observe the anniversaries of Marvin Gaye, Jam-Master Jay, or Freddy Mercury? Gaye was part of the Civil Rights movement, which, you know, actually made a difference. Jam-Master Jay helped to make Rap music acceptable for mass consumption. Freddy Mercury’s death helped make the public take AIDS seriously. These are all important people whose lives were tragically cut short, who all changed the word (arguably) for the better, and yet…nothing.

I get that this is the 30th anniversary of Lennon’s death. It’s an aught year, so you get a pass this time. But I don’t want to hear about it again until 2020.

Please stop,

-jason

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, I’m with you on this one. Lennon was a huge asshole, and as much as I love the Beatles, I’d say Harrison did much more for peace and the world than Lennon did.

Great point about Marvin Gaye. What’s Going On said more about the world than anything Lennon wrote.

Comment by Eli Gundry




Leave a Reply

