to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera by jason

This is one of those things. Sometimes, when I’m surfing the YouTube for cute cat videos awesome music to talk about, I’ll come across people, everyday Assholes like you or me, trying to do acoustic guitar versions of rap songs. Sometimes, they sound like they’re trying to be ironic, and sometimes they are actually trying to do something different with a familiar song.

Most of the time, it just sounds douchey to me.

But just most of the time. So, through the magic of the awkward segue, here are some people singing rap songs with acoustic accompaniment.

First off, here’s Scotty Kimberly singing T-Pain’s “Buy U A Drank.” I think someone needs to buy T-Pain a dictionary or something, but hey. Anyway, it doesn’t sound too bad. I’m not really familiar with the original song, though. I guess, then, that this stands pretty well on it’s own.

Next, and you’ll have to forgive me for butting a ukulele cover in with the guitars, but here is YouTube user sarahsukulele performing a rather interesting cover of Flo Rida’s “Get Low.” Ukuleles are like assholes; everyone on the Internet’s got one, apparently. Anyway, I like this cover a lot.

THIS cover is ironic enough to piss me off. Seriously, guys? This is Joe and Derek, whose last names are undisclosed, probably for their own protection, covering NWA’s “Fuck the Police.”

This one, however, had me laughing right from the beginning. See, I’ve hated “Crank That” by Soulja Boy ever since my neighbor across the hall decided to “crank that” 30 minute dance mix of it through my wall at 8 in the morning. True story. YouTube user JawKneeYeah redeems the song by acknowledging how ridiculous it is. Thanks, man.

And that’s it for this week’s Assholes! If you like what you hear, click through to their YouTube pages and tell them you heard them here!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

