to eleven


Review: Salute Mary-Lonely Escapades EP by jason
September 8, 2010, 2:52 pm
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,


Salute Mary-Lonely Escapades EP.
Salute Mary’s debut EP, Lonely Escapades, is kind of a throwback to the early nineties, and I mean that in a good way. The title track from the Scottish quartet starts off with an ominous bass-line and beat that build to the meat of the song, which is a kind of Pixies-esque Quiet-Loud-Quiet alternative rock. The second track, “Hanging from Trees,” continues this sound.

I don’t mean that that they are ripping off the Pixies. Well, not any more than half the bands of my youth did. While Salute Mary wears its influences on its sleeve (that is a little Nirvana I’m hearing on “Alibi,” right?), they remain original enough to go beyond a simple pastiche of their favorite bands. And while this does sound a little like ’90s alternative rock, I doubt it would be mistaken as anything but a new record, a product of 2010.

I’ll admit that the first time I listened to this EP, I wasn’t overly impressed, nor was I turned off by it. I was talking to Jayson, and I said, “I wouldn’t turn this off if it were on the radio.” After a few more listens, though, it grew on me. It’s going on my MP3 player; it’s in rotation now.

Find Salute Mary on iTunes, or starting September 10th, order a copy from
them on MySpace

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

