to eleven


Friday. by Jayson

stolen from heyokay.com

I am sorry to hear that Behemoth frontman Nergal has been diagnosed with leukemia. There is a bone marrow donor shortage in Poland. Hopefully he’ll get the help he needs and overcome his illness.

I know I can’t be the only person who is disappointed that The Situation didn’t contribute any of his own vocals to his single. WTH dude? I’m honestly surprised that anyone cares now. The shock has worn off and Jersey Shore is just another tv show now.

The dudes over at Hard Format, a blog about music design, agree with me about Taiga Records releases. See, I know stuff. They even talked about the two Taiga releases I have.

Came across another tape only label, Sacred Tapes. Looks good if you are in the market for metal on the tape format, lots of stuff I have never heard of. Must be good, right?

The most metal person in the world today, Kim Kelly, has written an excellent guide to some of the best bands in American metal. Every band on her list is worth checking out. I don’t like Landmine Marathon or Lightning Swords of Death, but your mileage may vary. I also am loath to label anything hipster metal though, but I’ve talked about that before.

Re: hipster metal: I ain’t let some dude who was wearin’ Kanye shades 3 years ago ruin Isis or Wolves in the Throne Room for me, real talk.

Speaking of being a hipster, I spent a week in Chicago going to record stores and couldn’t find anything I wanted to buy. How about that? I am so super elite that no one is carrying anything in my list of stuff to get. Woo doo.

Speaking of excellence, while I was there I went to Kuma’s again. Say what you will about Mastodon, but the Mastodon burger is the ultimate bacon cheeseburger, I highly recommend it. I also recommend the Plague Bringer, but I had the comical reaction of taking four bites, having steam shoot out of my ears, fire shoot out of my mouth and downing half my beer in one gulp. Hot and spicy.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

