to eleven


New Releases by jason

Wow. I was on vacation for a week, and I feel like I’m completely out of the loop. Tuesday’s as good a day as any to get back into it, eh?


Chief-Modern Rituals. Domino, 2010.

Jayson pointed this band out a couple of seeks ago. It’s kind of alt-country. It’s kind of folk. It’s kind of great. I’m thinking about putting some money on my Amie Street account to get this one.


David Gray, Foundling. Downtown Records, 2010.

Honestly, I haven’t gotten anything by Gray since Life in Slow Motion. That said, I’ve loved everything I’ve heard from this guy, and if you aren’t listening to him, there’s something wrong. In your brain. You might want to get that checked out. Seriously, I would like to listen to this before I buy it, but I’m sure it’s fantastic.


Darker My Love-Alive As You Are. Dangerbird Records, 2010.

I sampled this one. It sounds kind of like The Apples in Stereo, but less goofy. There’s a strong Beatles influence. That’s usually a good thing, as it is here. We need more Beatles-influenced pop-rock today. The world would be a better place.


Kottonmouth Kings present D-Loc-Made for Kings. Suburban Noize. 2010.

Another Juggalo album. Serieously, between contemplating magnets and throwing shit at Tila Tequila, I don’t know how anyone has time to record anything, but every week, there’s an album by someone in the whole Juggalo family.


Brian Wilson-Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin. Walt Disney Records, 2010.

Brian Wilson doing Gershwin. You know exactly what this sounds like. I don’t have to describe it.

Some observations:
The ICP film Big Money Rustlas came out on DVD today. Write your own comment on that one.

Belle and Sebastian’s next album, called Belle and Sebastian Write About Love, has been announced for an October release. I’m both excited and prepared to be let down.

As I mentioned yesterday, Jayson’s on vacation this week, so I have the conn. I’ll try not to wreck this thing.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

