to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera by jason

I’m away for vacation this week, far, far away from Ghettotown, Ohio. Even though I’m away, though, I know you are all dying to hear more Assholes, and I couldn’t relax on vacation if I knew I had let you all down, so here you go!

Calvin Delo does a pretty good cover of a difficult song: “Panic Switch” by Silversun Pickups. I’ve never been a big fan of SP. They sound a little too much like Smashing Pumpkins (and I just realized that they share the same initials), and while there is nothing wrong with that, if I want to hear Smashing Pumpkins, I’ll listen to Smashing Pumpkins. This song is good, though, and Delo interprets it nicely to acoustic.

Speaking of Smashing Pumpkins, YouTube user beyondtheblackhole does a charming and subdued cover of “Today.” I always liked this song. In fact, that whole damn album was good.

In case you don’t know, I love the National. So I was happy to hear this excellent cover of “Start a War” done by YouTube user mikeyk22. He sounds a LOT like Matt Berninger.

And finally, since when I’m not doing anything else, I’m listening to the Mountain Goats, here’s Melly Ray’s cover of “Woke Up New. ” I like what she’s done with it…she takes a song that is melancholy and uncertain, and she makes it cute. Word.

Also, don’t forget about what I said last week. I’m trying to get more of your participation on this little blog here. So…

THE TO ELEVEN CALL FOR ASSHOLES:

Do you play an instrument? Sing? Do anything musical? Or maybe you know a friend who does. Well, film yourself, put it on YouTube, enable embedding, and e-mail us the link! When we get enough (like, I’m thinking 4), we’ll do a To Eleven Fan Any Asshole! Hell, I (that is, jason)will post one of myself in this post, too, so you don’t have to worry about embarrassing yourself!

Our e-mail is toelevenblog@gmail.com. Put TO ELEVEN ASSHOLE in the subject line, and get recording!

I also want to add that if any of our readers are professional musicians who want to get the word out about your talents, this might be a way to do so!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

