to eleven


Friday. by Jayson

You know, I hate to have judgement in the manner of many other bloggers. My basic reasoning is that I don’t want to confuse causality and correlation between your terrible taste and who you are as a person. That being said, if you are buying these limited edition statues of classic rockers, you probably do suck. If you are in a person’s dwelling and they have they have a statue of Dimebag Darrel; there is nothing to say and nothing to do but leave. The only product here that is acceptable, and then only under circumstances, is Freddy Mercury.

Dre is going to do a beat album with the theme of traveling in space around the planets. Saturn will require surround sound. Maybe it’ll come with a $25 off coupon for a Beats Audio product. I am stoked for this, kinda. I do not have the hardware to appreciate its fullness. I perceive the world through stereo.

I guess The Beatles stuff is not coming out on iTunes (presumably any digital format?) because Yoko doesn’t like something about something. This is kinda like the thing with Nirvana and whatever stuff Courtney is sitting on where despite the fact that there is basically ridiculous money to get made, everyone is goes insane because they want to make 100% of it themselves. The only thing anyone can do is just wait for people to die and their estates to move on stuff. By then we may not care. The problem for me is that there are just time limits on caring. In theory I still like both the Beatles and Nirvana, but in practice I hardly listen to them anymore.

I am kinda burned out on metal. It’s not that I don’t like it anymore or have stopped listening to it. It’s more like I’ve lost enthusiasm for doing anything but listening to it. I don’t want to read anyone’s opinions about it. I think this is partially because nothing really good is coming out for what looks like the whole rest of this year.

Chief are a good band. I just found out about them yesterday. Their album is out later this month.

I questioning my desire to go see shows, it’s an abstract thing. I might not see the point anymore.

I’ll be out of the office for most of the rest of today.

– Jayson

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I don’t even really get the anxiousness about whoever getting on iTunes. Like are there really that many people who require their files to be created from virgin masters handled with the finest silk gloves that are black so that any dust will be visible and the gloves will be immediately discarded? Or people who can’t bring themselves to buy a CD anymore?

Like, you’re getting reasonable bit rate AAC files. Just go down to Halfprice Books, pick up Nevermind for $7, and rip it. It’s still a good album and I’m still happy with the copy I bought in 1991.

Comment by ymatto




Leave a Reply

