to eleven


Review: Kinit Her – Divine Names by Jayson
August 4, 2010, 9:42 am
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,

Nearly every time I review an album, I get a feeling about whether I’m going to like it or not very quickly. Even if I don’t, I still listen to the whole thing and I usually have an opinion by about 3 minutes. I didn’t do that here, in fact I really couldn’t. First it’s not fair to the album. Kinit Her describe their music as “Magicomelodic, philosymphonic progressive neofolk doom” which is a pretty fair description; there’s a lot going on. Progression and differentiation and three minutes isn’t going to tell you anything. My gut level reaction was ‘I have no idea what’s going on’ at the three-minute mark.

Divine Names has an almost medieval sensibility to the sound, with acoustic guitars, mandolins and vocals that vary from monastic chanting to black metal-esque demonic vocals to choral style vocals that reminded me of Red Army Choir.  The A side of the album is one track; a creeping, kind of unsettling progression with a more atmospheric sensibility than the B side; which has three distinct songs.  The whole thing has a very strong sense of narrative. This is my first exposure to Kinit Her, but Divine Names seems like it’s part of some greater story, mythology or concept. Despite much earlier railing against conceptual music, it works with the sound here and it didn’t bother me at all.

Speaking from my personal taste, there are parts I like more than others. I enjoyed the A side more than the B, but could almost be down to the presence of strings. The B side is a folkier, particularly the second track, and I didn’t get nearly as into it.

I like this record, but it took me a while to get there. It ranks as a challenging listen and one you’ll have to devote some time and repeated plays to.

Kinit Her – Divine Names is out on tape from Brave Mysteries.

Kinit Her Bandcamp

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

