to eleven


Stating the Obvious II: The Revengening by jason

So…the other day, I went off about the ugliness of the indie scene. I tried to make it clear that I wasn’t talking about actual, sorry-dude-you’re-just-born-that-way ugliness, but rather the kind you have to work to have, but I still think there was a misunderstanding. So, as a counterpoint to the ugliness I was talking about, let’s talk about indie bands that don’t revel in ugliness.

Classy.

See, like I said, I understand this ugly, kitschy thing that the indie scene loves. Goodwill is cheap, but sometimes the selection isn’t very good. That said, you still don’t have to spend a ton to look at least half-way presentable.

Halfway presentable.

I mean, I don’t know how much The National, Okkervil River, or Vampire Weekend spend on wardrobe, but in the case of The National, they are trying to look good and succeeding. With Okkervil River and Vampire Weekend, I don’t think they are trying anything…it really doesn’t take a lot of effort to not look like a twat.

Vampire Weekend. Not Pictured: Twats.

And it doesn’t cost a lot, either. I have an outfit I wear out sometimes. Black pants, black jacket, red or green dress shirt. The whole thing cost less than $10, including the 2 shirts. This leads me to believe that the “ugly” bands are doing it on purpose. Like, everyone’s trying to look unusual. But you don’t have to be ugly to look unusual.

She's so unusual. And HOT.

I guess through this whole thing, what I’m really trying to say is “Have some fucking dignity.” There’s no reason to look like an asshat, so don’t look like an asshat. It’s just an insult to the fans.

'Cause every girl's crazy 'bout a sharp-dressed man.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

