to eleven


Review: Hüsker Dü – The Living End by Jayson
July 13, 2010, 8:16 am
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,

I blame myself more than anything, but right now there is nothing in the world of music that I want to write about as it relates to current events. New music is coming out, music is being played on tour, stupid stuff is happening. None of it is at all very interesting to me at all the last few weeks.

So I’m just going to write about some music that I like.

Hüsker Dü were a band that lived and died before I even took notice of music. I didn’t even hear of them until 94, when I read about the release of their live album The Living End in Rolling Stone. Rolling Stone loved it and I decided to pick it up based on the strength of their recommendation. It’s funny how much that sentence sums up my life at that point.

There has never been a point in my life where I haven’t loved this record. There’s also never been a point where the songs on it weren’t personally relevant. This is the one to get. For whatever reason, this album; a posthumous live album recorded as the band did their last ever tour, is better than anything they ever were able to accomplish in the studio. These are the definitive versions of their songs, and these are timeless classics, a whole album of them.

These videos aren’t from this record, but from the same era.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

