to eleven


The Bargain Bin: Britpop Edition by jason
July 9, 2010, 2:53 pm
Filed under: Bargain Bin | Tags: ,

As I kind of hinted at yesterday, today’s Bargain Bin is Britpop-themed. I didn’t plan it that way…I just grabbed the top two CD’s from the Bargain Bin stack, and there you go.

As always, I’m rating these albums using the jaynova Bargain Bin Algorithm, taking my enjoyment and the price I paid (no more than $5). Then, I put each CD into J.A.Y.N.O.V.A., The To Eleven Institute of Sound supercomputer, and it…well, it’s complicated SCIENCE!!! You wouldn’t understand.

Seriously...you wouldn't understand.

Moving right along, then…


Elastica-Elastica. DGC, 1995.
You all remember this one. It has that one song with the guitar that goes “Ehh! Ehh-Ehh Ehh!” Seriously, though, I loved the song “Connection” back in the day, but I never bothered to go out and get the CD. I didn’t actually buy much music in 1995 because I was poor. OK, I still am, but I am much less frugal these days. Plus, this was only $1.00. I mean, how could I pass that up, right?

I’m glad I didn’t. “Connection” is the most recognizable song, but there are other great ones here, too. “Blue” is awesome, and so is “2:1.” “Line Up” sounds a lot like Blur (and Damon Albarn makes an appearance on this album), “Hold Me Now” sounds kind of like Garbage, and a few of the songs sound like Pulp if Jarvis Cocker were a girl. Which means they kind of sound like The Long Blondes. In fact, it makes me wonder how much of an influence Elastica had on The Long Blondes.

So how does it rate? Well, J.A.Y.N.O.V.A. and I agree that this is an 8. I’ll play it again, though it might not go into heavy rotation. Still, it was only a buck!

Here’s a video of a song that is not “Connection”!


Blur-Blur. Virgin, 1997.

A week or so ago, Jayson was talking about bands that have their awkward grunge period where they are trying to be something they are not. Blur by Blur is that album.

Honestly, despite what I’ve heard others say about Blur’s departure from the Britpop sound, I like this album. A lot. Much more than Modern Life Is Rubbish. Maybe it’s because I’m American; I am the target audience. I dunno. I mean, it has “Song 2,” with it’s “Woo-hoo!” chorus. It has “Beetlebum,” which is one of my favorite Blur songs. It has “On Your Own,” which sounds a hell of a lot like the songs my friends who were in bands would write in the mid ’90s. For an album by a band that was known for musically recreating the English lifestyle, Blur sounds more like my American high school experience than some of the music I listened to back then.

How does it rate? The ticker-tape that spits forth from J.A.Y.N.O.V.A. declares this one a solid 9, and I agree. It’s going right back into my CD player. Not bad for something I paid $5.00 for.

Here’s “Beetlebum,” which, coincidentally, is rumored to be about the lead singer of Elastica and her drug addiction.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

