to eleven


Can you go home again? by Jayson
July 8, 2010, 9:59 am
Filed under: Metal | Tags: ,

Whoa.

Mike Judge is working on 30 new Beavis & Butt-Head episodes.

The Nosebleed was a classic episode. Some years back, Pat got me the first season of B&B and while it still holds up, I was really disappointed that it didn’t have the music videos. I assume that there was some sort of convoluted legal issue involving putting them on the DVD series. Like maybe Pop Will Eat Itself wanted some kinda $4 royalty on every copy or something. When you watch them like that, trimmed down, you realize videos were half the show. So I’m wondering if this new season takes off, will there be videos? I know that bands still make them, and considering that Beavis & Butt-Head are metal heads, they could get down on Toxic Holocaust and Lair of the Minotaur videos.  You know they’d love that.

What new videos would you like to get the official Beavis & Butt-Head reaction from?

– Jayson

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, the videos made the show. I was really disappointed when the DVDs came out without that since I have all kinds of nostalgia from sitting around up late in high school watching them make fun of videos I’d mostly never seen before.

I was reading that the new series will actually have videos, which is cool. But I suspect that they’ll go the route of doing popular stuff, which will be funny but will still kind of disappoint me. Seriously, how many videos are we aware of *only* because B&B did them? I remember B&B did that one Whale video with this girl in braces singing in front of a huge mountain of coal and immediately people started ordering that up 5 times an hour on the local video jukebox channel. The Donald Fagen video with the stop-motion toy cars in the futuristic city? I think maybe the most mainstream thing they did was Bananarama’s Venus, and that was worth it just to hear Beavis sing “I’m your Beavis!”

Surely there are still people outside the top-100 making videos out there, but then without MTV as it used to be, what channel are Beavis and Butthead watching on that old TV (have they upgraded to HD?) to see them?

Comment by ymatto




Leave a Reply

