to eleven


Any Asshole with a Guitar and a Camera: Britpop Edition by jason

I was a latecomer to the Britpop thing. I mean, back in the day, I liked me some Oasis and some Blur, but in recent years, I’ve been listening to it enough to know the good from the bad (I hope), and I’ve ventured outside whet the radio played of it while everyone was too busy listening to grunge here in the states. So I decided that this week would be the Britpop-themed edition of Any Asshole.

Here’s bd harrison’s cover of the incredibly difficult “This is Hardcore” by Pulp. he guitar is dead on, but his singing is a little crackly.Seriously, though, this song is hard to sing. I sang it at karaoke night once and cleared the place out.

Craig Cameron’s cover of Blur’s “Coffee and TV” is pretty good, although the guitar overpowers everything. Still I chose it because 1) he plays so effortlessly that this doesn’t even look like a thing to him, and 2) and like the drunken, mumbly rambling at the beginning.

Here’s a band called The Tea Cozies covering Elastica’s “Blue.” It’s a pretty good cover, if you’ve heard the original. It’s hard to find good Elastic covers on YouTube, but I wanted to represent because SPOILER ALERT I’m putting Elastic’s self-titled album in the Bargain Bin tomorrow.

And finally, I should put an Oasis cover in here, but I’m not. You know why? Because fuck ’em, that’s why. Instead, here’s another Pulp cover. “Live Bed Show” by Iaeuan sounds rather minimalist but cool. His voice really works here.

As always, if you liked these assholes, go to their YouTube pages and tell them where you heard them!

-jason

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i liked that tea cozies cover. those assholes.

Comment by margot




Leave a Reply

