to eleven


What I’m Listening To by jason

Well, it looks like Jayson and I have another artist, besides Murder by Death, that we can agree on. I, too, have been listening to Jessica Lea Mayfield’s With Blasphemy So Heartfelt. It’s a great album, and as Jayson said, it does what Jenny Lewis and Zooey Deschanel wish they were doing.

I got The National’s Boxer out again to introduce my ladyfriend to the awesomeness that is that band. Boxer is more mellow than alligator and High Violet. If you aren’t listening to The National, then I’m not sure what you’re doing, but you screwed up somewhere. It’s not too late! You can fix this!

On Monday, I got my free CD for renewing my subscription to Under the Radar. I had requested Owen Pallett’s new one, but they ran out, so they sent me Daniel Johnston’s Is and Always Was. I like Daniel Johnston, but sometimes he’s hard to listen to. Still, overall, this is a decent album. Because I can’t find a good video of anything from the new album, here’s one of my favorite songs by him:

This weekend, I went to a couple of antique stores with the aforementioned ladyfriend to look for some vinyl. I picked up the 45 of this, which is kind of corny:

And this, which is a fantastic song. FACT:

I also picked up an old Adventure Comics featuring Superboy and the Legion of Super Heroes, but that’s neither here nor there.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

