to eleven


Review: Jessica Lea Mayfield – With Blasphemy So Heartfelt by Jayson
June 16, 2010, 9:11 am
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,

I got this because Ms. Mayfield is from Kent, which is just up the street from me.

The thing that makes this album for me is the country influences. You could play this on an alt-country radio station and get away with it. Normally I really despise the indie/folk singer-songwriter thing; but this is recorded with a full band, which makes worlds of difference. For my token comparison to another recording artist, her sound is more Kathleen Edwards than She & Him. She has an incredible voice; a big voice. A voice that sounds like it’s been through way more than 21 years worth of life. A voice with a lot of soul.

You kinda know from the title that this is not going to be a happy album, but these are really great songs. Well for the most part. I didn’t like “Bible Days.” Someone has already told me religion is bad and there are a lot of contradictions in it. I can forgive a 21 year old that though.

Jessica Lea Mayfield Official MySpace

Get the album directly from her with a t-shirt and an EP or be a cheapskate like me and get it from Amie St.

– Jayson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

