to eleven


Review: The Big Drum In The Sky Religion – sha ri va ri by Jayson
June 10, 2010, 1:37 pm
Filed under: Review | Tags: ,

This is an band that plays drums.

Drums that sound like a train, like a Native American ritual, like an African ritual, like a hoedown or a hootenanny, in a hall, or somewhere. There is some other sound going on, people or something. Some kind of noise going on, echoey.

Composed of several live recordings, sha ri va ri was a new experience for me. Despite being a hip-hop fan, I haven’t really payed much attention to any percussion based music. This is a weird album to throw in. It’s easy for the mind to wander when you’re listening to it, but you’ll be constantly pulled back as the rhythm changes. At first I didn’t like it, then I got engaged by it, then it drifted away on me, then I noticed I was tapping my foot to it. By the end of side one I wanted to get up and dance around the fire, I think that is what this is about.

The Big Drum In the Sky Religion – sha ri va ri is available on Earjerk Records.

http://www.myspace.com/bigdrumskyreligion

– Jayson

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

yeah… that’s the ticket! Woop it up!

Comment by earjerk




Leave a Reply

