to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
June 4, 2010, 12:54 pm
Filed under: Bargain Bin | Tags: , , ,

Well, it’s payday today, but I’ve been on unpaid vacation for 3 weeks due to my punching a student in the damn mouth the end of the Spring Semester, so I’m not getting a check. You know what that means? I starve to death! Er…I mean…it’s time to go to the Bargain Bin.

I’m rating these albums using the jaynova Bargain Bin algorithm, which takes the following into consideration: The price I paid (no more than $5), the amount of enjoyment and replayability I find, and the number of days I could sustain myself by eating the packaging.


The Smiths-The Queen is Dead. Sire Records, 1986.

Growing up, I never really got into the Smiths. It’s not that I didn’t like them…it’s just that I had only heard that one song. I was kind of a late bloomer when it came to music. And before you all say,”Well, that explains a lot,” bite my ass.

Anyway, good album. There are some great songs (“There is a Light That Never Goes Out,” “The Boy With The Thorn in His Side,”) and jokey ones, (“Frankly, Mr. Shankly,” “Vicar in a Tutu”), so it’d a decent cross-section of their music. I’ll say right now that I like Strangeways, Here We Come more, though Strangeways was kind of my introduction to the Smiths, so I might be biased.

So how does it rate? Well, the music can sustain me for a while, and the booklet has all the lyrics, so I would say I could go 7 days without food if I had this album. It’s good enough that I will have it in rotation again soon.


Sugar-File Under Easy Listening. Rykodisc, 1994.

I’ll probably make a few enemies when I say this, but this album is…kind of bland. I mean, it’s a good album, but it sounds like mid-90s alternative pop. The guitars, the vocals…they could have been by about 30 other bands.

That said, there are a few songs that do stand out, such as “My Favorite Thing,” “Can’t Help You Anymore,” and “Explode and Make Up.” I get the feeling that had I listened to this album when it came out, when my ears were better able to discern the nuanced differences amongst the hundreds of bands that all sound the same to me from that era, I would have loved it. Today, it just blends in with everything else, and I feel bad admitting that. Bob Mould is kind of a big deal, ya know?

So how would this sustain me if I went a whole month without a paycheck, like I’m doing now? Well, I’m going to have to give it a 7 days out of 10. Like I said, it’s not bad; it’s just not particularly interesting. It might have scored lower, but I only paid a dollar for it! It’s not going into rotation soon, but I’ll put it in every now and then.

Alright…jason out.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Bob Mould is one of those guys who is always good, but the best thing he did was his first band. At least he hasn’t totally lost it like Danzig.

Comment by Jayson




Leave a Reply

