to eleven


What I’m Listening To by jason

This week, I’ve been watching a lot of videos on YouTube and whatnot. Maybe it’s because I’m on vacation and haven’t had to drive as far as usual, or maybe it’s because I’m getting other stuff done and only have time to listen to a song here and there. Like, the more free time I have, the less free time I have. Right?

Anyway, moving right along…

Miles Fisher is someone I’ve been meaning to listen to. I got his new EP for free on Amie Street a month ago, but I haven’t listened to it yet. However, I saw this video for his cover of the Talking Heads’ “This Must Be the Place,” and it is a great video. Fisher looks a LOT like Christian Bale, and he plays up to that. Warning..this might be NSFW.

This next one won’t embed right, so you’ll just have to trust me and click on it. As you may know, I like covers, and this is the Clientele covering M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes.” I like how they get around the gunshots and cash register sounds in-studio.

The Clientele covers M.I.A..

And finally…I didn’t really listen to this this week, but since the other two were covers, I thought I’d find a third. Here’s Ray Lamontagne’s awesome cover of Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy.”

-jason

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

First video: Song is diametrically opposed to what I like, I think it hurt me to listen to. Physically. However, still shots of 80’s cordless phones rule hard.

Second video: A nice song, but too much grandpa’s guitars!

Comment by patrick.




Leave a Reply

