to eleven


Artisits I’m Supposed to Like: The Black Keys. by jason
May 18, 2010, 4:18 pm
Filed under: Artists I'm Supposed to Like | Tags: , ,


The Black Keys are from Akron, Ohio, which is a stone’s throw away from Ghettotown. Over the past few years, while not actually an “indie” band, they’ve become indie media darlings, and their newest album, Brothers, came out today. This is a pretty big deal for many people.

But not for me.

See, the Black Keys are one of those bands that I just don’t “get.” They aren’t bad. I listen to them, and I recognize that these guys are talented, and they are making good music. I just don’t see what the big deal is. It’s just not my thing.

I kind of feel like a scene traitor here. As a resident of the greater Akron area (a term I just coined, I think), and as a fan of music that is often produced by independent labels, I feel like the Black Keys are required listening for me. I go to my local indie record store, and they’ve got Black Keys posters on the walls. There are fliers for the Black Keys playing at the Beachland Ballroom right by the register. I overhear patrons and owners alike discussing the last Black Keys album. They seem to be a band that bridges the gap between blues/rock and indie rock, just by the virtue of them doing things their own way. But, you know, I’m going to lose my indie card for writing this, but they leave, like, zero impression on me. I listened to Magic Potion several times, and I just listened to Brothers earlier today, and…I couldn’t even tell you what it sounded like. In one ear and out the other, I’m saying.

I dunno. I’ve tried to like them, but I shouldn’t have to try, right?

I’m not going to be able to show my face in the record store again, Jayson’s probably going to change the password on the blog so I can’t get in after saying it, and the indie police are going to take away my cred, but:

I don’t like the Black Keys.

There. I said it. And you know what? After admitting that, I kind of feel better. Like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. And you know…this is a thing for me every time I do one of these “Artists I’m Supposed to Like” things. I get all bent out of shape over what my not liking popular indie band X means, when really, it doesn’t mean anything. Musical taste is so subjective that there’s no way to really infer anything about a person based on musical taste, no matter how hard one tries.

So, in summary, I’m not a fan of the Black Keys, and that’s OK. Just because I like “indie music,” it doesn’t mean that I–

JASON HAS BEEN ORDERED TO REPORT FOR POLITICAL REEDUCATION. IN THE MEANTIME, WATCH THIS VIDEO. WE WILL KNOW IF YOU DON’T.
-THE INDIE POLICE

-jason

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It all depends on whether or not you like old school blues. I was raised on Muddy Waters, Bo Diddly, Howlin’ Wolf, etc. For me it was a natural transition to them.

That said, Blakroc sucked hard and it hurts me to say it.

Comment by Eli Gundry

What you have to realize is Jason has no soul. None, whatsoever. You’ve seen his prom picture…

Comment by Jayson




Leave a Reply

