to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
May 7, 2010, 11:32 am
Filed under: Bargain Bin | Tags: , , ,

Well, today’s my big birthday bash, and I’m sick. I have a fever, my throat’s sore, and I wouldn’t have even got out of bed today except that I have to write another Bargain Bin. My dedication to all of you is that great.

So, shivering from the chills and hallucinating, I am rating these albums using the jaynova Bargain Bin algorithm, which takes into account the price I paid ($5.00 or less each) and the value I get from these CDs, as well as how many cold/flu pills I have to take before I can no longer focus on the music.

Let’s get this started before I pass out.


Man or Astro-man? 1000x. Touch and Go Records. 1997.

I first heard Man or Astro-man? on Shots in the Dark, which is one of the best albums ever. Because of this, I pretty much knew what to expect. This album varies between slightly kitschy instrumental surf rock and just plain rock. To be honest, while the vocal rock is good, I’m mainly interested in the surf-rock, such as “Like a Giant Microwave,” and “Man Made of CO2.” The whole album is pretty good, though.

So how does it rate? Well, it seems I took 7 1/2 cold/flu pills to make me for get I was rocking out to this. It’s going into my writing mix, even though some of the songs have vocals.

Here’s “Like a Giant Microwave” off the album.


The Ventures-The Best of the Ventures. EMI. 1987.

OK. I usually don’t do best of albums, and honestly, I have most of these songs on their original albums. That said, The Best of the Ventures is some great surf-rock. This collection has “Walk, Don’t Run,” “Penetration,” “Out of Limits,” and a live version of “Journey to the Stars,” which are all favorites of mine.

As I said, though, I have most of these songs already, so this was kind of a redundant purchase. Still, I like to write to instrumental surf rock, and if I were doing so and only had a CD player with me, this is what I would grab.

It seems I had to take 8 cold/flu pills before I became loopy enough to forget what I was listening to. It’s that good.

Here’s “Penetration,” originally from Ventures in Space.

Well, I’m doing to crawl back into bed now and try to sweat this illness off. Wake me up if anything important happens.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

