to eleven


Nine Inch Nails: Another Version of the Truth by jason
April 26, 2010, 9:08 pm
Filed under: Movies | Tags: , , ,

On Saturday night at Massillon, Ohio’s Lions Lincoln Theatre the black-hair-dye and leather crowd flocked to see the Nine Inch Nails concert film, Another Version of the Truth. This concert film is apparently being screened around the country on the condition that all screenings be free. Now, you can say what you want about Nine Inch Nails (and I’m going to say some shit in a minute here), but I can get behind Reznor’s attitude. He likes to give stuff away; he allows this movie to go out for free, he puts his music on his website for free…that’s a pretty big deal.

Anyway, back to the commentary on the show.

The pre-film art show was hosted by the Massillon Artists Brigade, made up of artists who cater to said black-hair-dye crowd. I actually bought a few prints off of Billy Ludwig, whose stuff I had seen at Canton’s Art is Alive thingy. Good, gothy stuff, it is.

After I looked at the art, I sat in the theatre proper with a couple of friends who were the target demographic. That said, even they agreed that the in house music before the movie (Joy Division, Type O Negative, etc.) was entirely too loud.

Now, before it sounds like I hated the whole thing, I really didn’t. It’s great to see art actually happening in this area, and it’s really cool that they had this free event.

Here’s the thing, though. I used to like Nine Inch Nails. Like, when I was in high school, even though I was not as angsty as my fellow students, I still listened to them.

The 32-year-old Jason only hears whining coming out of Trent’s mouth. I’m sorry, but he yells and screams about how things aren’t fair, and how no one knows how this feels, and how God lied to him or some shit, and I’m like “Whatever, dude.” It really just doesn’t do it for me anymore.

The movie, however, was still enjoyable. See, the makers of the film gathered bootleg footage from a bunch of fans at various shows, then spliced it all together into a cohesive whole. Like, I didn’t realize it wasn’t a professional thing from a single concert. It’s pretty impressive.

Also, NiN has an awesome visual presence at their shows. They play in front of a screen that reacts to their instruments and shows images relating to the songs, and during “Closer”, Trent looks into a camera so that his giant face is projected above the band. I would pay money to see such a live show, and to see this film for free, well, that’s a good thing.

So, while I really felt like the whole scene was a little too 1995 for me, it was a good show, and I’d like to get a copy of the movie. I’m just glad I’m over that black-hair-dye phase.

jason and date dressed for the 1995 Senior Prom.

Seriously.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

…oh man, I just threw up in my mouth.

Comment by Jayson

Jason was Jack the Ripper in his previous life.

Comment by Meighan

Dude is that real!?

Comment by Eli Gundry




Leave a Reply

