to eleven


What I’m Listening To by jason

Ug. It’s that time of year. If you are a student, you know what I’m talking about.

Finals are just around the corner. Because I work at a college (and Jayson is a student), it’s hard for us to do much for the next two weeks. In response, we’re trying to do more because we’re complete bad-asses like that. It’s not always easy, though, and today was just one of those days.

I haven’t even had time to sit down and listen to music today, though I have been listening to some stuff throughout the week, and you know what? You should be listening to it, too!

Jayson got me listening to Red Sparowes. Their new album, The Pain is Excruciating, but Therein Lies the Answer is going on my “writing mix” because it’s moody, it’s not going to put my to sleep, and most importantly for my writing mix, it’s all instrumental. I also got their ep, Aphorisms on Amie Street for a steal. I’m hoping to see these guys this Sunday (see also: things jason and Jayson are doing because they have no time to do ANYTHING).

To Eleven reader Devin got me a digital copy of the ultra-rare Come, Come to the Sunset Tree by the Mountain Goats. I’m still on the lookout for a physical copy of this one, but for now, this copy will tide me over. It’s an collection of demos from The Sunset Tree with a couple of completely unreleased songs. Rad.

Inspired by Max Tannone’s Mos Dub that I was on about last week, I busted out Mos Def & Talib Kweli are Black Star, which is a great album. I’ve liked Mos Def for a while, but I’ve never listened to any Talib Kweli besides this album. I’ll have to go fix this immediately.

I’ve also started listening to the new Kaki King album, but I’m going to review it later, so I won’t talk about that.

OK…it’s back to the fray for me. Say hi to Jayson if you see him today!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

