to eleven


Artists I’m supposed to like: Eddie Argos by jason

Eddie Argos is an artist that I think I’m supposed to like. Some of my friends with whom I share musical taste (e.g. not Jayson) have told me that Art Brut is an amazing band. One of my favorite magazines, Under the Radar has talked him up, and they ran a thing he wrote about, of all things, comic books. Specifically, he talks about the Giffen/DeMatteis Justice League books and Booster Gold. His new project, Everybody Was in the French Resistance…Now!, has recorded a concept album where he responds to other chart-topping songs.

I like amazing bands. I like the Giffen/DeMatteis Justice League. Booster Gold is a great character. I LOVE concept albums, and that’s a great concept.

But I just can’t get behind this guy.

When I think of Art Brut, this is the song I think of:

I hate that song. I’m not sure why I do. Musically, it sounds cool. Kind of punk…reminds me a little of the Clash. I think it’s just Eddie…his voice, his accent, the way he talks instead of singing, his uninspired rhymes (“My little brother just discovered Rock ‘n Roll/there’s a noise in his head and he’s out of control!”). I dunno. It just rubs me the wrong way.

Maybe if I keep listening to them, keep pounding my head against it, I’ll like it, but I shouldn’t have to work to like something. If I’m not into it by the 3rd listen, I’m pretty much done with it.

Maybe I’ll give Everyobody Was in the French Resistance…Now! a try. I like the concept, as I said, and Eddie Argos seems like a straight dude. Here’s the first single, “G.I.R.L.F.R.E.N. (You Know I’ve Got A)” from the album Fixin’ The Charts Volume 1.:

Again, not offensive, but it’s just not doing “it” for me. Do I lose indie cred here? Am I wrong? Am I uncool?

Damn. I knew it was the last one.

-jason

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope I don’t offend anyone (I actually don’t care, but that’s the polite thing to say), but that Bang Bang Rock & Roll song is terrible. Like, I listened to it for 30 seconds and turned it off, terrible. It doesn’t make me want to listen to any of his other music. Blech.

Comment by Beth

[…] Oh well. We already knew I was uncool. […]

Pingback by Artists I’m supposed to like: The Hold Steady « to eleven




Leave a Reply

