to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason

I usually do this thing once every two weeks, but hey; it’s Springy outside, and I’m feeling good. I’ve decided to make a bonus visit to the bargain bin.

Today, I’m using jaynova’s Bargain Bin Algorithm(tm), which involves me listening to each album, weighing it against how much I paid for it ($5.00), then taking a look at the pollen count. Some quick, off-the-cuff math, and voila! The Bargain Bin rating!

Lets get to it, then.


Queens of the Stone Age-Rated R.

OK, I don’t have to tell you that this album rocks at any price. You already know that. It starts with “Feel Good Hit of the Summer” with Rob Halford on backing vocals, and, really, that’s all I have to say about that. The rest of the songs are just as kick-ass, as well.

I really don’t know why it took me this long to get Rated R. I knew it was the shit when it came out, but I just never got around to it. I failed at life. What can I say?

Looking at the pollen count, it looks like I’m giving this….add fifteen, carry the four…A solid 9. A great album that I would have paid full price for. Except I didn’t.

Here’s “Feel Good Hit of the Summer.” Enjoy!


Caroline Smith and the Goodnight Sleeps-Backyard Tentset
Caroline Smith and the Goodnight Sleeps are another band I heard about from Daytrotter. They’re good for that. Anyway, The Goodnight Sleeps are another of these country-folky indie bands that I’ve been listening to lately. It’s good stuff, too. Smith has a nice, interesting voice. It’s very pleasant, without trying to sound “cute.” I’m not sure who I would compare her too…she doesn’t really sound like anyone I’ve heard. Hurm.

These are all good songs, but I really like “Closing the Doors,” “Where Has Sally Gone?,” and “Green to Grey.”

Looking at the pollen count and blowing my nose, it looks like I’m going to have to give this an 8.5. A very solid album that again, I would have paid full price for.

Here’s a live performance of :Closing the Doors” for your listening pleasure.

And that’s it for this visit! Check back next week for more Bargain Bin action!

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

