to eleven


Any Asshole with a Banjo and a Camera by jason

On long-time reader Beth’s suggestion, this week’s installment of “Any Asshole” features nothing but banjos! I’m looking for songs that you might not expect to hear on a banjo unless you know how the internet works. Which you do, so there should be no surprises.

Since we got a lot of new readers this week, I should restate that I am not calling these people “assholes” to insult them…I’m merely asserting that any asshole with a camera and a modicum of musical talent can find an audience. This is the beauty of the Internet.

Anyway, the first “Asshole” of this week is annavogelzang. Her cover of Lady GaGa’s “Bad Romance: is exactly what I’m talking about…when doing a cover, the artist should make the song their own, and she does this well.

This second guy, Daker, does exactly the opposite of that. Using his banjo, his voice, and some fancy-schmancy editing, he manages to recreate the Pixies “Where is My Mind.” It’s pretty close to the original, all things considered.

This is supposedly just a street performer posted by jamisonleigh . His cover of Radiohead’s “Creep” straddles the line between recreating the original and making it his own. I like this. I would give him money.

And that’s it for the assholes this week! Come back next week for more assholes!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was prepared to like the 2nd guy the best, b/c I love The Pixies, but I really loved the first girl. I think she did a great job of making the song her own. It could also have something to do with the fact that I’ve had that damn song stuck in my head for 3 days…

Comment by Beth




Leave a Reply

