to eleven


What I’m Listening To by jason

This week, I’ve been listening to a LOT of music. The 6 hours I spent going to and from Pittsburgh made it easy. Anyway, let’s do the thing.

I finally got Charlotte Gainsbourg’s IRM. It’s pretty good…not what I normally listen to, but good. Beck produced it, and you can hear his influence on a few of the songs. This one’s the title track, about having an MRI (Which, in French, is an IRM):

Because I went to that Balthrop, Alabama show, I’ve been on a Balthrop kick. These guys were awesome live, they are awesome on their albums, and now I can confirm that they are just awesome people. Don’t miss these guys if they come to your town.

On the trip up, I listened to Murder By Death. If you’ve never heard these guys, you fail. I saw them a couple of years ago, and I plan to see them on my birthday this year. Most of their stuff sounds like Nick Cave without the pretense, but influenced by Spaghetti Westerns. It is rad.

I listened to some other stuff, too, including the Mountain Goats and Love is All, but you’ve heard all about them this week, so I’ll leave it at that.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

