to eleven


Review: The Harlan Twins-Self Titled by jason
March 31, 2010, 12:54 am
Filed under: Review | Tags:

I’m going to preface this review by saying that I’ve only become comfortable with southern-flavored rock in the last few months. On an unrelated note, I still hate the Eagles.

OK…now that that’s out of the way, let me tell you about The Harlan Twins. The Harlan Twins are a Southern-flavored alt country/rock band from Pittsburgh that I saw on Saturday. While I was there, I picked up their album, and I’m glad I did. It’s been on rotation in my car ever since.

Carrie Battle, the female vocalist, and James Hart, the male vocalist, both have great voices. See, this is one of those things that I complain about with the newer, southern-flavored stuff. The singers’ voices in a lot of these bands sound unnatural, like they are trying to hard. This is not the case with the Harlan Twins…they have pipes, and they use them well. The rest of the band has a nice, full sound, too, with organs, violins, and pedal steel.

Unfortunately, because I am not used to listening to this style of music, I feel like I don’t have the language to describe it…I have nothing I could compare it to without sounding like an ass. I do know that I really like this, especially the songs, “White Light,” “Stinging Bee,” and the rocking “Get Gone.” Their stuff’s good enough that I would drive the 2 1/2 hours back to Pittsburgh again to see them.

Unfortunately, it looks like the only way to get this CD right now is to catch the Harlan Twins at one of their shows or go to Paul’s CD’s in Pittsburgh. Hopefully this will change soon. I dunno…maybe you can write them and see if you can order it? If you do, tell them you heard about it here, eh?

-jason

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ditto everything. haven’t been able to take their cd out of my car for a month now. 2 1/2 hour drive, April 30th, Brillobox for The Harlan Twins and Lohio. If you haven’t heard them, Do! Will be an unbelievable show!

Comment by Danielle L

you should be able to get the record via CDBaby.com in the next week. thanks for listening to the record man!

Comment by aloysius

[…] Pittsburgh seems to be having some sort of independant music renaissance. Earlier this year, I taked about some bands I saw in Pittsburgh and reviewed an album by one of those bands. […]

Pingback by Review: Seán O’Donnell-Emotional Apocrypha of the Bubblegum Gospel « to eleven




Leave a Reply

