to eleven


An Open Letter to Bands that Don’t Bring Merch to the Show by jason
March 31, 2010, 11:03 am
Filed under: Local Music, Open Letter, Shows, Why??? | Tags: , ,

Dear Bands That Don’t Bring Merch to the Show:

What the hell are you thinking?

This was a discussion I had with my friend Chris at that show I went to. None of the bands there were guilty of this, but Chris said that it happens more often than you would think. Sure, a band can say “We’re not doing it for the money…we just want to play!” and that’s fine. I feel ya. It’s about the art.

And, like, if you never made anything to sell, like no albums, no t-shirts, or no stickers, that’s fine. But if you have merch-and I know you do; I can see it on your website-you need to bring that. It’s not doing you any good back at the studio, You already paid to have it made, and you need to pay for gas to get to the show. Why not bring your shit? I’ll probably buy it.

I was at a show for a band that I absolutely love, and they plugged their new album, which they didn’t bring. When someone in the crowd asked the band about that, the lead singer said, “I didn’t know I was supposed to bring it!” Dude…you are here promoting the album. I mean, I love ya and all, but you should probably bring that, you know, just in case.

There was another show I went to…four bands played, and only the first band had merch. I know for a fact that at least one of the other bands has an album out, and after their performance, you’re goddamn right I would have bought the CD, but they didn’t have it. And, as they are a relatively local indie band, it’s not like I’m running to Best Buy to pick it up.

So, guys…bring your damn merch. I’ll buy it if you bring it. Seriously, do the thing.

Thanks,

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

