to eleven


Review: Love is All-Two Thousand and Ten Injuries by jason
March 29, 2010, 10:02 pm
Filed under: New Releases, Review | Tags: ,


Love is All is another one of those bands that I heard on Daytrotter. I really liked the song “Early Warnings,” and their cover of Flock of Seagulls’ “I Ran” was one of the coolest things I had heard on that site since their Mountain Goats sessions, so when I saw their new album, Two Thousand and Ten Injuries, debut on Amie Street for $5, I had to get it.

I’ll warn you…it’s not for everyone. Love is All sounds like Vampire Weekend if they put distortion on all their instruments, hired Bjork to to vocals, gave her some cocaine, and decided to record somewhere around 1982. The result is a slightly punk, slightly disco-by-way-of-the-Caribbean, sightly retro-twee-pop-rock from this band from Gothenburg.

As you can imagine, the thing is kind of a mess, but it’s a great mess. You can tell they’re having fun, which seems to be one of my criteria for getting into something lately. Vocalist Josephine Olausson yells her lyrics, not trying to sound “pleasant”; in fact, she’s kind of screechy, and her words are heavily accented. She doesn’t seem to care, and so neither do I. Just go with it, you know?

Anyway, the highlights are the aforementioned “Early Warning,” “Repetition,” (Which I think Vampire Weekend should really think about covering), and “Take Your Time,” which borrows the “Pachelbel’s Canon,” chord progression that many other songs emulate (like Blues Traveler’s “Hook” and Spiritulized’s “Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space”, to name a couple).

So, in the final analysis, I like this album…I don’t know if I love it, but it is fun. And the fact that I got it for $5 makes it even better.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

