to eleven


An Open Letter to Amie St. by jason

Dear um…feedback people,

First off, I love your site. I download free music off of you from time to time, and I even put $20.00 on my account to buy music from the likes of the Mountain Goats, Elvis Perkins, and the Microphones. You have actually sold me, a die-hard physical format zealot, on digital format.

Your site is very easy to navigate, allows listeners to sample before they buy, and it has music broken into very precise categories for ease of browsing. This, however, is why I’m writing.

You see, I like surf rock. More specifically, I like instrumental surf rock. I listen to it when I write because it has a good tempo without the distracting lyrics. But that’s neither here nor there. So, I browsed your surf rock category, and I got things such as:

Unstress through Movement (a guided meditation CD)

Singing the Bible Scriptures! (which was mellow synth music with a woman reading, not singing, Bible Scripture, though that’s not your fault)

Hand Drum Instructional Vol.1 featuring Charity Nuse (Does what it says on the tin)

An Offering by Inner Surge (It’s Death Metal, but it claims to be Surf Rock AND Reggae)

etc., etc., etc.

And sure, amongst that music, I also Found The Surf Zombies, The Professors, and some surf guitar playing ex-stage magician called Jienexfore, all of which I may buy. However, it seems that the “Surf Rock” category is mostly made up of everything but.

Now, I realize that the bands probably put themselves into these categories, and I also realize that “Surf Rock” is probably a category that doesn’t get policed very often. I mean, there’s like 20 of us browsing it. But it is distressing when all I want to do is hear some drums, some bass, a guitar and maybe a trumpet or two, and I get Deep Thoughts with Jack Handy.

So, I really just wanted to make you aware of the situation. This isn’t a deal breaker…more of a minor annoyance than anything. Hopefully, you’ll look into this, but if not, I still love ya.

Hang loose,

-jason

Amie Street is a great digital music retail site. Go to www.amiestreet.com and check them out!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, I love them too. What I don’t think I could get past, is the stench of desperation given off by some death metal band listing themselves as surf. Because if I want surf, I’m going to stumble across some shitty death metal band and/or whatever and have a ‘I could have had a V8!’ moment…

Comment by Jayson

I’m still trying to figure out the logic of some of these people. “Yeah, I wanted Surf Rock, but instead, I’ll listen to some lady ramble on about the Tarot.”

Comment by jason




Leave a Reply

