to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason

It’s payday, and that means it’s time to head to The Bargain Bin.  As you know, the reviews in the Bargain Bin are carefully formulated by a team of crack scientists who put all of these $5.oo or less CDs through a battery of tests.  Then, using the jaynova Bargain Bin Algorithm (patent pending), they use SCIENCE! to rate these albums based on the quality and value.

OK…here we go!

Manchester Orchestra-Mean Everything to Nothing

I first saw Manchester Orchestra on Youtube doing a minimalist cover pr Willie Nelson’s “The Party’s Over” and the Mountain Goats’ “No Children.”  It was awesome.

This album…eh…It’s good.  It hits the right notes, so to speak.  Emotional indie singer playing pop infused with rock and country.  Sounds like it should great, but…I just ain’t feeling it.  There are some rocking songs…I like “I’ve Got Friends” and “My Friend Marcus”, as well as the title track.   But..I just can’t get “in” to this one.

I called the scientists on their SCIENCE! watch-phones, and they are giving this a 6 out of 10.  Hurm.

Here’s a live acoustic performance of “I’ve Got Friends”

Black Sabbath-Black Sabbath Vol. 4

This one starts rocking right off the bat.  I actually have to struggle to say anything bad about this one, but here it goes…some of the lyrics on “Changes” are kind of juvenile.  There.  That’s it.  Other than that, this shit rocks. I wish I had this on Vinyl. Actually, I know where I can make that happen…I might get it this weekend.

Anyway, the scientists called me up on their SCIENCE! viewscreens to tell me that they give this a 9 out of 10. SCIENCE! always wins!

Here’s “Wheels of Confusion/The Straightener” with a crappy fan video.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

